Corvus Frugilegus

by Russell_Lehmann

Corvus Frugilegus Pic

I have always loved animals

And they’ve loved me back

My tender caresses

Make them instantly attached

 

The finest of animals

Would have to be birds

Wild birds, in fact,

For their beauty need not words

 

For several years I have observed

All types of avian

Enthusiastically watching them

Glide with the wind

 

I even feed the pests

Crows, rooks and pigeons

Tossing bread left and right

As they follow me in legions

 

But one day occurred

Such an unfortunate deed

When a rook nipped my finger

While I was feeding it seed

 

How mad I became!

I wondered just why

I wanted to strike the bird

And watch it drop before my eyes!

 

An urge of such hatred!

To see it writhe would be nice,

To hear it caw with such pain

As it gives up its fight

 

Sagacious I was

For I clenched the rooks throat

This brought me the joy

That I had such eagerly hoped!

 

As the rook grew weaker

He cawed one last cry

I felt such a release

As it finally died

 

After such an utter rush,

My vision soon left

My sense went numb

As I started to sweat

 

I soon found myself

Jumping out of my bed

Disgusted by my dream

Until I remembered what I had read

 

Just before I drifted off,

I read a short story by Poe

Which must have induced a phantasm

For it indeed induced woe

 

A story of such evil

And of delirious acts

For I feel you must be informed

If you are to read “The Black Cat”

 

©Russell Lehmann 2014

